Made in Moris

An initiative by the AMM

amm logo red background

What is the AMM’s role?


Created in 1995, the Association of Mauritian Manufacturers is an organisation operating in the private sector. In its essence, it represents the interests of local manufacturers, otherwise known as “local industry”, who mainly satisfy the needs of the domestic market. One of AMM’s missions is to promote the Mauritian manufacturing industry and support it in its transformation. The Association of Mauritian Manufacturers will celebrate its 25 years of existence in 2020.

 

Who are the members of the AMM?


To date, the AMM’s growing list of members represent over 11 industrial sectors across Mauritius: the agri-food industry, beverages, chemicals, publishing and printing, the production of metallic and non-metallic materials, paper/cardboard, the service industry and personal care and hygiene products—to only name a few.

What is the link between the label and the AMM?


2012. A challenging time for Mauritian manufacturers who were suddenly faced with an influx of imported products. At the same time, the AMM made a keen observation: locally-made products are not only often of superior quality than their foreign counterparts, but they are also adapted to local needs and to the Mauritian culture.
 

Driven by renewed ambition, the AMM decided to mobilise its members and create a label that would allow local products to be easily identified and given more value. In 2012, eleven companies joined forces to establish a golden standard for the quality, freshness, traceability and adaptability of products manufactured in Mauritius. In collaboration and strategic partnership with SGS, a set of strict specifications were established to certify the superior quality of products.

In late 2012, a referendum was held, inviting Mauritians to choose and vote for their favourite logo. Made in Moris came into being in June 2013, positioning itself as a real differentiation tool.

The label adds value to Mauritian brands by bringing to the fore our identity, our values, our jobs and our know-how.

illustration MIM
amm annual general meeting

What does the label mean for the AMM?


Made in Moris is, first and foremost, an industrial policy and strategy for the AMM. Beyond promoting the local industry, this move forms part of a larger push to ensure the competitiveness and resilience of the local manufacturing sector. Beyond products and employment, the local industry has a far-reaching socio-economic impact. The simple act of buying local means giving back to your economy and community. Made in Moris members contribute to the country’s economic growth, generate employment, encourage local and regional development, and strengthen the country’s social harmony.


Collectively, the AMM’s and Made in Moris’ activities support a diversified pool of entrepreneurs in their training, innovation, internationalisation and corporate social responsibility challenges.

To better understand AMM

AMM News

07 Oct 2019 Squeezit se met au ver(t)re

Boire son jus dans une bouteille en verre. Je dis OUI. Sans être trop nostalgiques...

07 Oct 2019 Le Made in Moris, c’est quoi ?

Après 6 ans d’existence, notre label a fait son bout de chemin. La plupart des Mauriciens en ont entendu parler, peuvent le reconnaître, et utilisent au quotidien des produits labellisés...

07 Oct 2019 Labelling Industries : fièrement mauricienne, fièrement engagée

L’Association of Mauritius Manufacturers (AMM) organise régulièrement des visites en entreprise...

Made in Moris

Une initiative de l'AMM

amm logo red background

Quel est le rôle de l’AMM ?


L’Association des Manufacturiers Mauriciens, créée en 1995, est une organisation du secteur privé qui représente les intérêts du secteur manufacturier local, autrement appelé “industrie locale”. Les manufacturiers locaux répondent essentiellement à la demande du marché domestique. L'une des missions de l’AMM est de promouvoir l'industrie mauricienne et d'accompagner sa transformation. L’Association des Manufacturiers Mauriciens fêtera ses 25 ans en 2020.

 

Qui sont les membres de l’AMM ?


À ce jour, plus de 11 secteurs industriels sont représentés par les quelque 75 membres de l’AMM : l’agro-alimentaire, les boissons, la chimie, l’édition et l’imprimerie, les travaux des matériaux métalliques et non-métalliques, le papier/carton, les services à l’industrie et les produits d’hygiène - entre autres.

Quel est le lien entre l’AMM et le label ?


Nous sommes en 2012. Le contexte économique devient de plus en plus difficile pour les manufacturiers locaux, face à la concurrence des produits importés. Dans le même temps, l’AMM dresse un autre constat : les produits locaux sont souvent de meilleure qualité que les produits importés et sont adaptés aux besoins du marché et à la culture mauricienne.  


L’AMM décide de mobiliser ses membres avec l’ambition de créer un label qui permettrait d’identifier et de valoriser les produits locaux. En 2012, onze entreprises se mobilisent pour mettre en avant la qualité, la fraîcheur, la traçabilité et l’adaptabilité des produits fabriqués à Maurice. Avec la collaboration et en partenariat stratégique avec la firme SGS, un cahier des charges est développé pour assurer la partie "qualité" du label. 


Un référendum permettant aux Mauriciens de choisir et de voter pour leur logo préféré est organisé fin 2012. L’outil de différentiation Made in Moris naît en juin 2013. Le label apporte de la plus-value aux marques mauriciennes en mettant l’accent sur notre identité, nos valeurs, nos emplois et nos savoir-faire. 

illustration MIM
amm annual general meeting

Que représente le label pour l’AMM?


Le Made in Moris représente avant tout un enjeu de stratégie industrielle pour l’AMM.  L’enjeu de production locale n’est pas qu’une affaire de promotion mais de la compétitivité et de la pérennité du secteur manufacturier local. Au-delà des emplois et des produits, le fait de promouvoir l’impact socio-économique de l’industrie locale sur son territoire permet aux consommateurs de réaliser que l’acte d’achat peut avoir un impact positif. Nos entreprises Made in Moris contribuent à la croissance économique du pays, à la création d’emplois, au développement local et régional mais aussi à la cohésion sociale du pays.


L’activité des deux entités – l’AMM et le Made in Moris - permet d’accompagner un public diversifié d’entrepreneurs sur des enjeux de formation, d’innovation, d’internationalisation et de responsabilité sociétale de l’entreprise.

Pour mieux connaître l’AMM

Les actus de l’AMM

02 Dec 2022 Le Made in Moris au Salon de l'industrie locale
07 Sep 2022 Attitude atteint 52% de sourcing au Made in Moris (F&B)
21 Jul 2022 Coup d’envoi du 2e parcours du programme Lindistri Dime